Songs that make you cry


Ballads don’t count. Ballads are cheating. There’s a thousand and one silly love songs that have been written in the slow form of a ballad and all these cheese sandwiches are designed to make you mourn or cry. And while I have a few favourites of the cheesers, we all do, I’m looking for a more filling piece of music to move my hard heart.

Heavy metal and hard rock songs are my most listened to type of music. Nothing is as thrilling as the power of a rock song in full flow. Thrill after thrill is experienced when the rock band have got it just right. Limited as this genre is, you can’t have enough thrills in your life if you ask me. Listen to the opening riff of AC/DC’s Thunderstruck and the anticipation makes the hair on the back of your neck stand on end. Likewise, the simplicity of those big guitar chords in Megadeth’s Symphony of Destruction make you want to bang your head -Again and again and again to quote Status Quo. However, there’s not been one rock song that made me cry. Sore head afterwards, notwithstanding.

The classical movement has never caught my coat and tails. While I could name most of the popular classics thanks to the glory of adverts and stuff like that, I would find it hard to name the composer if a less well-known tune came on; they all sound the same, don’t they? One composer, two composers , three composers, four. Yet there are aficionados of radio 3 that are moved emotionally by pieces of this music. Though again, it’s slow movements which are comparable to a ballad so it doesn’t count.

Jazz music has many styles and I’m sure many star performers that can bring the audience to tears. Unfortunately, I know nothing about jazz and can’t provide further comment.

The least respected of all the musical arts is the humble pop music. Three minute records, instantly unforgettable with all the properties of an unfulfilling snack. And yet. Now and again a gem can appear from the most unlikely source. A friend showed me this video which encapsulated the poignancy of the lyrics. A simple little love song with a medium beat that hit me in the heart.

 

Boo, Hoo, Hoo, (come on now, calm down, pull yourself together- sub-editor comment)

 
Songs that make you smile

This simple little song from David Bowie always cheers me up. Have a nice night, ladies and gentlemen. Let’s dance.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

19 Comments on “Songs that make you cry”

  1. Expat Says:

    I know nothing about heavy metal or hard rock, despite raising a son who played nothing else. But the one song that always sends a tingle up my spine and makes me cry is the Welsh national anthem sung by a male voice choir. Stirring stuff.

  2. JW10 Says:

    Hello Expat,

    I seem to have forgotten about choral works in my little essay, thanks for reminding me. Some renditions of Abide with me can be moving.

    Nice to hear your son had good tastes in music. Both my boys are the same. My wife has to put up with three head bangers in the house.


  3. Good heavens, JW, how plentiful are your wondrous bloggings!

    And how moving – that car plummeting over cliff in Katy Perry vid was several hankies-worth…

    Not keen on endless guitar thingys but Love dance music, specially Nut Bush City Limits or Brown Sugar or Jagger/Bowie Dancing in the Streets – Enormous Joy!

  4. Expat Says:

    You've done it again, JW. You left out Country Music. Every other song could make you cry. Here's one by David Alan Coe. He told a friend that he'd written the perfect country song, and the friend said it wasn't the perfect country song because he didn't talk about prison or trucks or Momma or trains. So Coe added a verse and it goes like this:

    I was drunk when my Mom got out of prison

    I went down to meet her in the rain

    But before I could get there in my pick-up truck

    She got runned over by a damned old train.

    Now if that doesn't tug at your heart strings, nothing will.

  5. Expat Says:

    OK, I got the details a bit backwards. Coe did not write this apparently. But the essence is correct.

  6. JW10 Says:

    One of these days I’ll write a 100,000 word blog. That’ll stop your wondrous comments, Dolores. Seriously, it pains me that you and CI don’t publish more. Just think of a subject and fire down four paragraphs of details. Make it up as you go along. Spontaneity is the spice of life.
    Dancing in the Streets cheers me up, too.

    Hello again Expat. How in the name of Johnny Cash did I forget country music? Big red face for me. Yep, plenty of tear-jerking country stories/songs out there. The one you mentioned I could imagine it being sang before I heard it. A quick You Tube visit tells me the song is called You never called me by my name. Sad.


  7. Expat, that's brilliant! – shall be singing it all day. (to strong image of Benny Hill).
    Is John in fine fettle, by the way, and Kathy, CI?

    Do You Know, JW, I've Spontaneously jotted the first two lines of half a dozen posts but can't seem to get beyond.

    Brain melted – can't even get into two hotmail accounts since July because passwords Won't come back – who knows what lurks unanswered….

    Shall try harder. Do miss your postings too, CI.

    A 100,000 word blog, JW? FAB! and half a day's work for a brain of your palpitatingness!


  8. I feel like I'm tiptoeing in at the back door desperately hoping nobody will notice that I'm terribly late. And my heart sinks when I realise there is nobody here – everybody has left.
    😦

    But the upside of this is that since there is nobody here, nobody can possibly notice that I'm desperately late.
    🙂

    So I stop tiptoeing, and I discard my hangdog sheepish demeanour, and I stride purposefully forward through the deserted auditorium until I am occupying centre stage. Then I turn to address my non-existent audience.
    :-))

    “Hello” I say, “I'm late, but I've brought this CD for you all to listen to”.

    And I conclude with the immortal line:

    “It's a country and western number … “.
    🙂


  9. Magnificently purposeful performance, CI! And an agonising tear-bringer of a CD

  10. Expat. Says:

    I've actually never heard that one played on the air and I bet she never sang it in concerts in any of the border States. I understand why.


  11. Well, I guess South of the Border is a possibilty…
    🙂


  12. Well, I guess South of the Border is a possibilty…
    🙂

  13. Expat Says:

    JW, if you haven't moved on to another blog already, find Skin (Sarabeth) by Rascal Flatts on youtube. It's the most beautiful song, sad and uplifting at the same time, as only country music can be.

  14. JW10 Says:

    I’ve not moved on to my 100,000 word blog yet, Expat, but be afraid, be very afraid. I listened to the song you mentioned. As you say, it is very moving. Thank you for recommending it. I will give it a few more listens in the future.

    On a sad note, the last couple of days has been hard on my family as my sister’s cat had to be put down. The little tiger was 15 years old. We have been comforting my sister who has taken it badly.

  15. Expat Says:

    I feel for her. We had to goodbye to our Lab last year. It's hard.


  16. So sorry to hear about your sister's cat, JW, always agonising – warm wishes to her.

    That vid is a real whack in the tum that'll stay with one, Expat – glorious ending

  17. JW10 Says:

    Thanks ladies for your kind wishes. Sorry if I brought back sad memories for you, Expat. I remember your pain at the loss of Beckham.


  18. Ouch! The loss of a family pet really does hurt. My sympathies…
    😦


Leave a Reply

