A Chibber Vignette

An old lag once told me “There are no tough guys. When the lights go out you can hear them crying.” Tough guys don’t seem to live long as there is always somebody tougher. My mate Chibber is a tough guy, still living, more through luck than anything else. Tough luck.

It was a Christmas and I arrived fashionably a little late. The party was still sober though it was jolly. From the corner of my eye I spied Chibber wearing a Christmas hat he’d pulled from a cracker. It was blue, naturally. I laughed at him. He likes me so I get away with these things.

“What are you doing? You’re sitting there with paper tissue on your head.”

Affronted he was and you wouldn’t like to see him when he gets affronted. He grabbed the hat from his head, wrapped it into a ball and ate it. Chibber had done the proverbial “eating your hat” for real. Trouble was it was only paper. Not as tough as eating wood, rocks, metal or a boater, now is it?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

